Duluth MN – Superior WI MSA





The Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and Quetico Provincial Park stretch for nearly 258 kilometers (160 miles) between Minnesota and Ontario, Canada.

The Duluth/Superior Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) is comprised of St. Louis and Carlton Counties in Minnesota and Douglas County in Wisconsin. Located on the western edge of Lake Superior, the region’s major industries include aviation, back office, wood and paper products, mining, higher education, shipping/transportation, health care, metal fabrication, and tourism.

The international “Twin Ports” of Duluth, Minn., and Superior, Wis., form the hub of regional economic and cultural activity, but there are numerous outlying communities in the MSA, each with unique strengths, resources, and opportunities for development. As a whole, the region’s population is growing steadily, and has enjoyed significant economic diversification in recent decades.

While the U.S. Census defines the MSA by the three counties mentioned above, MSA-level data can prove misleading due to the large size of St. Louis County. As of 2016, there are 200,479 residents within a 30-mile radius of downtown Duluth, an area that comprises all of the cities of Duluth, Superior, Cloquet, Hermantown, Rice Lake, Proctor, and Two Harbors, plus a number of suburban or exurban townships. For assistance in obtaining accurate data on the greater Duluth-Superior area, contact Karl Schuettler at 218-529-7564 or kschuettler@northspan.org.

By the same token, Northland Connection can provide assistance identifying data on the northern half of St. Louis County, which is folded into the Duluth-Superior MSA in most statistical analyses, but enjoys its own distinct economic opportunities.